INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Association of Cities and Towns (IACT) announced that three Indiana cities have achieved 2016 IACT Green Community of the Year distinctions. The cities of Fishers, Westfield and Whiting will all receive their awards during the IACT Annual Awards Luncheon presented by Umbaugh, Oct. 5 during the 2016 IACT Annual Conference & Exhibition in French Lick.

IACT launched the Green Communities Initiative in 2008 in conjunction with Christopher B. Burke Engineering, Ltd., to identify potential cost savings to communities facing budget shortfalls, promote economically competitive quality of life concepts, and ultimately serve as role models for citizens while better protecting our environment. The initiative will expand educational opportunities for municipalities and create a consolidated clearinghouse of data and programs that can be accessed by municipalities.

“The IACT Green Communities program is a fantastic way for cities and towns to showcase their hard work and commitment to smart, efficient practices. The survey required is extremely comprehensive, lending credibility and prestige to the Green Community designation.” said IACT Executive Director and CEO Matt Greller. “The fact that Fishers, Westfield and Whiting have all earned this designation in previous years is evidence of a true commitment to green practices that improve the quality of life for their residents.”

Representatives from participating cities had to fill out a 51-question survey in the areas of purchasing, operations, measuring success, and sample projects. Not only did Fishers, Westfield and Whiting meet the minimum score required to be a Green Community, they earned the highest score in their population category to become a 2016 IACT Green Community of the Year.

2016 IACT Green Community of the Year Award Winners
Fishers (50,000+)
Westfield (10,000 – 50,000)
Whiting (under 10,000)

2016 IACT Green Community Designation Recipients

Fishers, Union City, Westfield, Whiting

The IACT Annual Conference and Exhibition is open to media who may attend the Awards Luncheon, opening and closing business sessions. Please request a media credential at the IACT registration desk in the French Lick Springs Hotel and Conference Center. Media must be credentialed before entering conference events.

The Indiana Association of Cities and Towns (IACT) is a coalition of municipal officials who seek to improve the quality of life in Indiana through effective government, and is a member of the National League of Cities. Founded in 1891, IACT is one of the oldest state municipal organizations in the country, with 470 cities and towns as members. IACT advocates for municipalities as the official voice of municipal government in Indiana, and promotes good government through education, training and leadership.


The Terminal